Faculty and Staff Notes

Awards and Honors

At the Religious Education Spring Social on April 13, Kenneth L. Alford received the Harvey B. Black and Susan Easton Black Outstanding Publication Award (Church History) for Civil War Saints (Provo, UT: Religious Studies Center, Brigham Young University; Salt Lake City: Deseret Book, 2012).Lincoln H. Blumell received the Harvey B. Black and Susan Easton Black Outstanding Publication Award (Ancient Scripture) for Lettered Christians: Christians, Letters, and Late Antique Oxyrhynchus (Leiden: Brill, 2012).

At the Religious Education Spring Social on April 13, Scott C. Esplin received the B. West Belnap Citizenship Award, Lloyd D. Newell received the Robert J. Matthews Teaching Award, and Thomas A. Wayment received the Richard Lloyd Anderson Research Award.

In May,Brian M. Hauglid replaced Paul Y. Hoskisson as director of the Laura F. Willes Center for Book of Mormon Studies at the Neal A. Maxwell Institute for Religious Scholarship.

In July, Brent L. Top became dean of Religious Education with Robert C. Freeman and Dana M. Pike as associate deans. That same month, Richard E. Bennett became chair and Scott C. Esplin became associate chair of the Department of Church History and Doctrine.

The Department of Ancient Scripture hiredNick Frederick as a visiting assistant professor, Kerry Hull as a professor, and Amy Easton-Flake as an assistant professor.Dan Belnap received continuing faculty status and advanced to the rank of associate professor. Lincoln H. Blumell and Tyler J. Griffin passed their third-year review and have received candidacy for continuing faculty status.

The Department of Church History and Doctrine hired Andrew H. Hedges as an associate professor, Michael H. MacKay and Anthony R. Sweat as assistant professors, and Gregory E. Wilkinson as visiting faculty. Kenneth L. Alford received continuing faculty status, and Rachel Cope received candidacy for continuing faculty status (third-year review).

Richard Neitzel Holzapfel completed his service as president of the Alabama Birmingham Mission.

Kent P. Jackson completed a stint as Jerusalem Center associate director. Frank F. Judd Jr.returned to Provo in August. David M. Whitchurch left August 1 to serve as associate director of the center; it is a two-year assignment. David Rolph Seely, Dan Belnap, and Fred E. Woods left in August for a one-year assignment as faculty.

At the Annual University Conference on August 27, Byron R. Merrill received the Karl G. Maeser Professional Faculty Excellence Award. Andrew C. Skinner received the Abraham O. Smoot Citizenship Award. Donald W. Parry received the Religious Education Transfer Professor Award. Todd B. Parker received the Loretta Gledhill Teaching and Learning Faculty Fellowship.

On August 28, Ken McCarty received the Religious Education Service Award for service above and beyond the call of duty.

On August 29, Richard B. Crookston was recognized for ten years of service. Brent R. Nordgren was recognized for five years of service.

In Memorium

Joseph Fielding McConkie passed away on October 10, 2013.

Moving On (or Retiring)

Susan Easton Black, Dong Sull Choi, Jerome M. Perkins, and Dennis A. Wright became professors emeriti of Church history and doctrine.