- 27. Gordon B. Hinckley, in Conference Report, April 1998, 3.
- 28. Gordon B. Hinckley, in Conference Report, October 1998, 90–91.
- 29. Gordon B. Hinckley, in Conference Report, April 1999, 116; see also April 2000, 110; April 2001, 4.
- 30. Gordon B. Hinckley, in Conference Report, October 2001, 3–4.
- 31. Gordon B. Hinckley, in Conference Report, April 2002, 107–8.
- 32. Brigham Young, in *Journal of Discourses*, 13:56; emphasis added. 33. Joseph Smith, *Teachings of the Prophet Joseph Smith*, comp. Joseph Fielding Smith (Salt Lake City: Deseret Book, 1976), 218.
- 34. Howard W. Hunter, *That We Might Have Joy* (Salt Lake City: Deseret Book, 1994), 59.



Portraits of the Prophets
© by Intellectual Reserve, Inc. Used by permission

Calls to the Apostolic Ministry

Michael D. Taylor

Michael D. Taylor, M.D., is an anesthesiologist at Provo (Utah) Surgical Center.

What a profound blessing it is to live at a time when we have a prophet of the Lord on the earth! Our lives are blessed every day by the influence of our prophet as we are taught and instructed, nourished and fed, encouraged and uplifted.

We are also richly blessed by the direction of other prophets, seers, and revelators who serve with the President of the Church. All these faithful brethren have been called of God by revelation and inspiration through the instrumentality of the Lord's ordained prophet.

In a very real and direct way, we are benefiting today from the inspiration of previous prophets. For example, Presidents Gordon B. Hinckley and Thomas S. Monson were called to the apostleship by President David O. McKay. As the Lord's seer, President McKay sought the Lord's will in calling these worthy men to fill these high and holy positions. How significant are the results of President McKay's inspiration those many years ago. Similarly, it is wonderful to contemplate that of our fifteen currently serving Apostles, almost half (seven) were called to the apostleship by President Spencer W. Kimball.

Following are three helpful tables dealing with the numbers of Apostles called during the years of service of each of our fifteen Church Presidents. The largest number of Apostles were called during the presidency of Joseph Smith, primarily because of the organization of the original Quorum of the Twelve and the frequency of apostasy among the early Church leaders. It is interesting to note that during the six years and nine months that John Taylor served as Church President, he called six new Apostles, while President Hinckley, who has now served almost eight years as Church President, has called just one new Apostle, Elder Henry B. Eyring. The last chart points out that of our fifteen Church Presidents, only six have called Apostles who subsequently served as Presidents of the Church. The call of Joseph Smith is unique in that he was called directly by the Lord Himself.

Number of Apostles Called during the Tenure of Each Prophet
Listed Chronologically

Prophet	Years as President	Apos tles Called	-	Names of Apostles Called
Joseph Smith	1830–18 44	22	0	Joseph Smith to Amasa M. Lyman
Brigham Young	1847–18 77	13	0	Ezra T. Benson to Albert Carrington
John Taylor	1880–18 87	6	0	Moses Thatcher to John W. Taylor
Wilford Woodruff	1889–18 98	5	0	Marriner W. Merrill to Abraham O. Woodruff
Lorenzo Snow	1898–19 01	2	0	Rudger Clawson to Reed Smoot
Joseph F. Smith	1901–19 18	11	0	Hyrum M. Smith to Richard R. Lyman
Heber J. Grant	1918–19 45	12	0	Melvin J. Ballard to Mark E. Petersen
George Albert Smith	1945–19 51	3	0	Matthew Cowley to Delbert L. Stapley
David O. McKay	1951–19 70	11	2	Marion G. Romney to Alvin R. Dyer
Joseph Fielding Smith	1970–19 72	2	1	Boyd K. Packer to Marvin J. Ashton

Harold B. Lee	1972–19 73	1	0	Bruce R. McConkie
Spencer W. Kimball	1973–19 85	7	7	L. Tom Perry to M. Russell Ballard
Ezra Taft Benson	1985–19 94	3	3 E	Joseph B. Wirthlin to Robert D. Hales
Howard H. Hunter	1994–19 95	1	1	Jeffrey R. Holland
Gordon B. Hinckley	1995–pre sent	1	1	Henry B. Eyring

Number of Apostles Called during the Tenure of Each Prophet Listed by Decreasing Number of Apostles Called

Prophet	Years as President	Apos tles Called	Apost les Living Names of Apostles Called	
Joseph Smith	1830–18 44	22	0	Joseph Smith to Amasa M. Lyman
Brigham Young	1847–18 77	13	0	Ezra T. Benson to Albert Carrington
Heber J. Grant	1918–19 45	12	0	Melvin J. Ballard to Mark E. Petersen
Joseph F. Smith	1901–19 18	11	0	Hyrum M. Smith to Richard R. Lyman
David O. McKay	1951–19 70	11	2	Marion G. Romney to Alvin R. Dyer
Spencer W. Kimball	1973–19 85	7	7	L. Tom Perry to M. Russell Ballard
John Taylor	1880–18 87	6	0	Moses Thatcher to John W. Taylor
Wilford Woodruff	1889–18 98	5	0	Marriner W. Merrill to Abraham O. Woodruff
George Albert Smith	1945–19 51	3	0	Matthew Cowley to Delbert L. Stapley
Ezra Taft Benson	1985–19 94	3	3	Joseph B. Wirthlin to Robert D. Hales
Lorenzo Snow	1898–19 01	2	0	Rudger Clawson to Reed Smoot
Joseph Fielding Smith	1970–19 72	2	1	Boyd K. Packer to Marvin J. Ashton

Harold B. Lee	1972–19 73	1	0	Bruce R. McConkie
Howard H. Hunter	1994–19 95	1	1	Jeffrey R. Holland
Gordon B. Hinckley	1995–pre sent	1	1	Henry B. Eyring

Future Church Presidents Called during the Tenure of Each Prophet Prophet Called during the Tenure of Year Called to the Apostleship Brigham Young Joseph Smith 1835 John Taylor Joseph Smith 1838 Wilford Woodruff Joseph Smith 1839 Lorenzo Snow Brigham Young 1849 Joseph F. Smith **Brigham Young** 1866 1882 Heber J. Grant John Taylor George Albert Smith 1903 Joseph F. Smith 1906 David O. McKay Joseph F. Smith 1910 Joseph Fielding Smith Joseph F. Smith Harold B. Lee Heber J. Grant 1941 Spencer W. Kimball Heber J. Grant 1943 Ezra Taft Benson Heber J. Grant 1943 Howard H. Hunter 1959 David O. McKay

David O. McKay

1961

Gordon B. Hinckley