



Appendixes

1830	The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is organized in western New York (April 6)
1846	Ship Brooklyn sails from New York (February 4)
	Mormon Battalion is recruited in Iowa (July 15)
	Brooklyn Saints arrive at San Francisco Bay (July 31)
1847	Mormon Battalion arrives at San Diego (January 29)
	Brigham Young and Mormon pioneers arrive at Salt Lake Valley (July 24)
	President Young sends epistle to California Saints (August 7)
1857	Brigham Young calls Saints to return to Utah (fall)
1895	Los Angeles Branch is organized (October 20)
1906	San Francisco earthquake (April 18); mission headquarters is moved to Los Angeles
1917	United States enters World War I (April 6)
1921	President Grant approves Saints settling in California (October 29)
	Church leaders inspect but ultimately decline temple site offered by Harry Culver (December)
1923	Los Angeles Stake is organized (January 21)

1937	Temple site is purchased on Santa Monica Boulevard (March 23)
	Board of architects is appointed to design temple
1947	Leaders visit site and apply for building permit (November)
1949	Plan to build temple is announced at meeting of California leaders (January 17)
	Edward O. Anderson is named as sole temple architect (January)
1950	Colored rendering of temple appears on Church News cover (December 13)
1951	Final approval is given by city (January 9)
	Groundbreaking with small group of invited guests (September 22)
	Presiding Bishop LeGrand Richards breaks ground for ward chapel on site (January 13)
1952	Kick-off meeting for fund-raising campaign (February 3)
	City permit authorizes temple construction to begin July 7
	Actual construction begins (August 11)
1953	Edward Anderson moves office to temple site (January)
	Groundbreaking for mission home by President McKay (January 5)
	Pouring cement for temple's first floor is completed (February)
	Westwood chapel is dedicated by Elder Harold B. Lee (April 12)
	Bureau of information construction begins (July)
	Heating plant construction begins (October)
	Temple cornerstone laying (December 11)

1954	"Topping out" of tower steel structure (February 12)
	Moroni statue is placed on tower (October 19)
	Los Angeles Temple Mission is organized (December)
1955	Bureau of information begins receiving visitors (spring)
	Benjamin L. Bowring is named first temple president (November)
	First outside group tours temple (November 11)
	Two thousand Church leaders meet in upper assembly room then tour temple (November 25)
	Open house begins (December 19)
1956	Open house concludes after 662,631 had visited (February 18)
	Hour-long television program features new temple (March 4)
	Temple is dedicated by President David O. McKay (March 11-14)
	First baptisms for the dead (Saturday, March 24)
	First couple is sealed for eternity (Friday, March 30)
	First endowments are given, by audio recording (Saturday, April 14)
1957	Church produces film on Los Angeles Temple
1958	Films are used in presenting endowment (January)
	Temple grounds are cited as contribution to civic beauty
1961	Sculpture of family group is placed on temple grounds
1964	Branch family history library is established in visitors' center basement
1966	Statue of the Christus is placed in visitors' center lobby (November 21)

	Temple patrons apartments open
1967	Visitors' center is rededicated after being substantially upgraded (June 3)
1970	Merthus W. Evans, second temple president
1975	Richard C. Stratford, third temple president
1978	Deaf patrons perform first sealings
1980	Thirteen miniature statues of women are placed in sunken garden (August)
	Robert L. Simpson (emeritus General Authority Seventy), fourth temple president
1981	Temple opens overnight to mark twenty-fifth anniversary and remodeling (March 20–21)
1982	Allen C. Rozsa, fifth temple president
1985	Japanese television features Los Angeles Temple and Mormon concept of eternal marriage
1986	Jack B. McEwan, sixth temple president
1989	Wayne A. Reeves, seventh temple president
1992	H. Von Packard, eighth temple president
1993	Dedication of San Diego Temple (April) cuts district and hence activity
1994	Powerful earthquake causes some damage at the temple (January 17)
1995	Glen H. Walker, ninth temple president
1998	Nile A. Sorenson, tenth temple president
2001	Paul R. Hatch, eleventh temple president
2004	Richard M. Andrus, twelfth temple president

2006	Stake commemoration Saturdays mark fiftieth anniversary
2008	Grant R. Brimhall, thirteenth temple president
	Hostile demonstrations follow passage of Proposition 8 defining marriage (November)
2011	R. Randall Huff, fourteenth temple president
2012	Homes are built for temple and mission presidents
2014	William F. Reynolds, fifteenth temple president
2015	Lawn is allowed to yellow to conserve water during severe drought
2017	Larry J. Larsen, sixteenth temple president